Karnataka Gram Panchayat Election Results 2020 LIVE: Early trends show BJP ahead of Congress, JDS

The results of gram panchayat elections will be declared today. (PTI)

Karnataka Gram Panchayat Election Results 2020 Live Updates: In the local body polls, the BJP-backed candidates have taken lead against the Congress and JD-S. The BJP is leading on 2755 seats while the Congress is ahead on 1475. The counting of votes for over 70,000 seats spread across 5,728 villages began at 8 AM. These seats had gone to polls in two phases, December 22 and December 27. Ballot papers were used for the panchayat election except for one district, Bidar – where the Commission used EVMs. Results are likely to be clear only by end of the day.

ALSO READ | Karnataka Election 2020: Results for 5,728 panchayats today – All you need to know

Last month, the Commission announced elections for a total of 91,339 seats in 5,728 Gram Panchayats of 226 talkus in two phases, December 22 and 27. Candidates for 8,074 seats have already been elected unopposed. In the first phase, elections were held for 43,238 seats while the second phase covered 39,378 seats. A total of 2,22,814 candidates were in the fray for the elections to Gram Panchayats.

Follow our Live Coverage of Gram Panchayat Results 


Read More

Source link