WhatsApp flexes its muscles yet again; says THIS on privacy terms effective from May 15


New Delhi: Instant messaging app WhatsApp that had faced a lot of flak over its privacy policy and terms of use update, has now said that it will not delete users’ account after the new privacy terms come into effect from May 15, however, in the long term users won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.

“To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app,” a WhatsApp FAQ page said.

Affiliate Marketing

Meanwhile users will have the following options, as pointed by WhatsApp in its FAQ Page:

  • Users can still accept the updates after May 15th. WhatsApp policy related to inactive users will apply.
     
  • Before May 15th, users can export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and download a report of your account. If they would like to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS, WhatsApp hopes that the users reconsider. 

Last week, WhatsApp said that it would display a banner on the app providing users with more information on the privacy policy.

WhatsApp said that in the coming weeks, it will display a banner in WhatsApp providing more information that people can read at their own pace. 

WhatsApp in its recent blog wrote, “Today we’re sharing updated plans for how we’ll ask WhatsApp users to review our terms of service and privacy policy. We previously encountered a great deal of misinformation about this update and we continue to work hard to clear up any confusion.”

Notably, WhatsApp has asked users to either give their consent to sharing data with Facebook or lose their accounts after February 8. The policy was, however, put on hold till May 15 due to a massive backlash by the users.





Source link